Hammocking and Huckleberry Finn

Having just finished reading The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn for school, my immediate thought is that the book is made of solid gold. Sure, it had its slow moments and I sometimes had difficulty keeping my eyelids from drooping in some parts. But my need for a few naps here and there should not draw from the fact that this story is possibly one of the greatest books I have ever come across. I was drawn to the character of Huckleberry Finn just as Mark Twain intended for the reader to be, but it was his relationship with Jim, the runaway slave, and other characters such as Tom Sawyer that really kept me interested in the story. Huck is an equal amount of stealth and cunning as well as a naturally good person. He cares so much for Jim’s well-being that he puts his very soul on the line to save Jim. Jim is one of the most underestimated characters in the story. At the time the story took place, Jim and other slaves like him were not yet considered to be even a whole person but rather only 3/5’s of a person and viewed as property. But as the story progresses, Huck comes to realize that perhaps the most human of all the people he is surrounded by is Jim. I am a total sucker for a good ending just as much as anyone is, but oh my when it came to Huckleberry Finn, I was completely astounded. The ending positively floored me in such a way that I was not expecting. I thought it would all come together in Jim being taken seriously for a man and Huck being properly cared for by a good family so that everyone would be happy. But the crazy plot twist that Tom Sawyer drops at the end combined with the crazy twist that Jim himself drops, I was shocked. I won’t give any details so as not to spoil the story. But I can say is this: I regarded Huckleberry Finn to be one of those books that teachers have you read so there’s really no reason to take it seriously. But what I received instead was a fantastic story about a boy on an adventure with some of the craziest twists that leave me wanting more.

Leave a Reply

